Skip to content

Washington D.C. – Wyoming Senators Craig Thomas and Mike Enzi announced Wednesday the nomination of Johanna Dijkstal and Travis Jordan as the Wyoming representatives to the 41st Annual United States Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C. The students were named by former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Judy Catchpole.

Dijkstal is a junior at Cheyenne Central High School and is junior class vice president. She is also a member of the varsity soccer team, a state champion cheerleader, and a Red Cross lifeguard. Jordan, who is from Gillette, is the public relations officer at Campbell County High School. He is actively involved in the speech and debate club, the jazz band and Powder River Symphony, as well as the cross country and soccer teams.

"We look forward to welcoming these two outstanding young people to Washington," the senators said. "Every year, we have the honor to guide two of Wyoming's best students as they learn about the federal government and the Senate in particular."

In addition to the two delegates from Wyoming, 102 other elected high school student body officers, two from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity, will make the trip to Washington, D.C., from March 1-8. Each of the 104 delegates will also receive a $5,000 college scholarship. This scholarship, in addition to the program week in Washington, is made possible by a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.

Any high school junior or senior student (regardless of race, color, creed, sex, or financial need) is eligible provided he or she has not previously been a delegate to the program and is currently serving in an elected capacity in any of the following, student government, civic, or educational organizations:

A. Student body president, vice president, secretary, or treasurer;
B. Class president, vice president, secretary or treasurer;
C. Student council representative;
D. Student representative to district, regional, or state level civic or education organization;
E. Each student must be a permanent resident of the United States and currently enrolled in a public or private secondary school in Wyoming where either one of his or her parents or guardians legally resides.

For more information, check out the Wyoming Department of Education website, (