Skip to content

U.S. Senators Mike Enzi, and John Barrasso, both R-Wyo., joined Senators Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn., and Ron Johnson, R-Wisc., this week to introduce legislation under the Congressional Review Act that would block implementation of the Administration’s overtime rule. The new rule will require more workers to punch the clock, track every minute when they come and go from work and stop them from negotiating a flexible work arrangement.

In 2015, the Department of Labor released a proposal to increase the salary threshold under which employees qualify for overtime pay. The department’s final rule, released last month, more than doubles that salary threshold – from $23,660 to $47,476. It will also cost many colleges millions of dollars per year in additional operating costs, potentially raising tuition for college students.

If both the Senate and the House pass the Congressional Review Act legislation, and it is signed by the president, it would nullify the Administration’s final rule and prohibit the Administration from issuing a substantially similar rule without Congressional approval.

The legislation is also cosponsored by: Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., John Boozman, R-Ark., Bill Cassidy, R-La., Dan Coats, R-Ind., Thad Cochran, R-Miss., Susan Collins, R-Maine, Bob Corker, R-Tenn., John Cornyn, R-Texas, Tom Cotton, R-Ark., Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, Ted Cruz, R-Texas, Steve Daines, R-Mont., Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, Deb Fischer, R-Neb., Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., Cory Gardner, R-Colo., Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, Dean Heller, R-Nevada, John Hoeven, R-N.D., Jim Inhofe, R-Okla., Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., James Lankford, R-Okla., Mike Lee, R-Utah, John McCain, R-Ariz., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, Rand Paul, R-Ky., David Perdue, R-Ga., Jim Risch, R-Idaho, Pat Roberts, R-Kan., Mike Rounds, R-S.D., Marco Rubio, R-Fla., Tim Scott, R-S.C., Jeff Sessions, R-Ala., Richard Shelby, R-Ala., John Thune, R-S.D., Thom Tillis, R-N.C., David Vitter, R-La., and Roger Wicker, R-Miss.