Skip to content

Washington, D.C. - Senate Majority Whip Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., today named Senator Bob Bennett, R-Utah, as Chief Deputy Whip and selected his team to serve as Deputy Whips for the 108th Congress. U.S. Sen. Mike Enzi, R-Wyo., was among those selected.

The Senators will support McConnell in his role as Majority Whip, primarily by building support for Republican legislative priorities and assisting with floor operations.

Enzi was thankful for the appointment and believes he has the experience and skill to be successful.

"I'm very pleased Sen. McConnell chose me as part of his team and I look forward to serving Wyoming and our nation as part of the Senate leadership," said Enzi. "I have made it a point to study floor operations and procedures since the beginning of my first Senate term and since then I have led a number of floor debates on different topics. In order to move forward with our plans to improve the country it is essential to maintain the support of our own caucus members and to know their interests and direction generally and what they think about each issue specifically. I've always been a good vote counter."

"This is an outstanding team, and I look forward to working with them during the 108th Congress," said McConnell. "Sen. Enzi will be a valued member of the Whip Team, and he will play an important role in working with his colleagues from both sides of the aisle to pass an agenda that will benefit all Americans."

The Deputy Whip team consists of:

Chief Deputy Whip

Senator Bob Bennett (R-UT)

Deputy Whips

Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Senator Wayne Allard (R-CO)
Senator Conrad Burns (R-MT)
Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO)
Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY)
Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Senator Gordon Smith (R-OR)
Senator John Sununu (R-NH)
Senator James Talent (R-MO)