Skip to content
Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Mike Enzi and John Barrasso and U.S. Representative Cynthia Lummis, all R-Wyo., were recognized as a “Taxpayer Super Heroes” for their work in the first session of the 111th Congress. The delegation received the award from the taxpayer watchdog group Council for Citizens Against Government Waste (CCAGW).
The delegation received a perfect score of 100 percent for the CCAGW’s 2009 Congressional Ratings. They were recognized for their work on increasing transparency, minimizing waste, eliminating earmarks and reducing the national debt. Enzi and Barrasso were the only two senators recognized as Taxpayer Super Heroes and Lummis was one of seven representatives in the House to receive the award.
“Taxpayer Heroes and Super Heroes demonstrated unparalleled commitment to cutting wasteful spending, reducing the tax burden, and make government more accountable to taxpayers,” said CCAGW President Tom Schatz.  “Their ratings are even more impressive given the record number of votes rated by CCAGW and the record number of representatives who could not vote even once to cut wasteful spending or taxes.  While far too many members of Congress on both sides of the Capitol demonstrated little regard for the consequences of failing to reduce the record $1.4 trillion deficit and $13 trillion debt, the Taxpayer Heroes and Super Heroes give taxpayers hope for the future.”  
The ratings are scored based on 120 votes in the House and 74 in the Senate. To read more on the ratings, click here.
The CCAGW is a private, non-partisan, non-profit organization representing more than one million members and supporters nationwide. CAGW's mission is to eliminate waste, mismanagement, and inefficiency in the federal government.